Peter Fulde Wins the Tsungming Tu Award
Peter Fulde Wins the Tsungming Tu Award
  • Reporter Lee Sang-min
  • 승인 2009.11.18 21:12
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

The highest authority in Taiwan

Peter Fulde, the chief of the Asia Pacific Center of Theoretical Physics (APCTP), received the 2009 Tsungmin Tu Award, the highest award bestowed by the National Science Council (NSC) of Taiwan. As the first president of Max-Planck-Institut fur Physik Komplexer Systeme (MPI-PKS) in Dresden, Germany and the current chief of APCTP, Peter Fulde was awarded for his worldwide achievement in solid state physics as well as his contribution to joint research and international cooperation among Asia-Pacific regions. NSC had an awarding ceremony at the National Taiwan University on Nov. 4, and presented him with the prize money, 75,000 USD.

The Tsungming Tu Award, founded in 2006 by NSC and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH) to promote joint research between Taiwan and Germany, was named after Doctor Tu Tsungming, pioneer of medical science in Taiwan. To promote national development of science and technology  seek international research progress, the award is given to foreign scientists of international fame. Luo-Chuang Lee of NSC announced, “Chief Fulde is acknowledged for his service on developments of natural sciences. This is expected to raise the prestige of the APCTP and to promote cooperation with the Taiwanese scientific community.”