2016 POSTECH Commencement Ceremony
2016 POSTECH Commencement Ceremony
  • Reporter Park Geun-woo
  • 승인 2017.02.10 19:54
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

On Feb. 10, POSTECH holds its Commencement Ceremony for the 2016 academic year at the POSTECH Gymnasium, starting from 10:40 A.M. This year, a total of 741 students acquired a degree, including 297 B.S., 193 M.S., and 251 Ph.D. students. The ceremony proceeds with the pledge of allegiance and the national anthem. It follows with the report on academic affairs from the vice president of academic affairs, the president’s commencement address to the graduates, a complementary address from the chairman of the board, and the conferral of degrees. Subsequently, the honors and awards are presented.
Kyounghun Oh (PHYS 13) is honored as the valedictorian for the graduating class of 2016 for both engineering and natural sciences field (Founding Chairman's Award), and Minhee Kim (IME 12) is honored as the valedictorian in the field of engineering. “Sung-Kee Chung Thesis Paper Award,” awarded for the best thesis paper in a natural science field, went to Minsu Kim (PHYS, Ph.D. integrated). The “Chang Kun Soo Thesis Paper Award,” awarded for the best thesis paper in an engineering field, was given to Seunghun Hong  (CSE, Ph.D. integrated). Hogil Kim Medal (Mueunjae Award), which has been given to the student who had significantly contributed to the university’s advancement, was given to Sunghyun Woo (CHEM 12). Lastly, the POSTECH Alumni Association Chairman Award went to Himchan Cho (MSE, Ph.D. integrated).
The ceremony ended with the valedictorian’s address, a congratulatory song and university anthem played by the POSTECH Orchestra, and closing remarks. After the ceremony, a luncheon was held at the POSCO International Center Grand Ballroom. To all the graduating Postechians, may there always be brilliant future ahead!