Awarded Researchers of POSTECH
Awarded Researchers of POSTECH
  • Reporter Park Min-young
  • 승인 2016.09.07 17:35
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

The First Young Asian Scientist Award
Professor Moon Jeong Park (CHEM) became the first Asian person to be awarded Hanwha-Total IUPAC Young Scientist Award 2016. This prize was created in 2004 and is awarded to a scientist under the age of 40 who has made great research achievements. Prof. Park made a great result in synthesizing hydrocarbon-based electrolyte membrane and lithium-sulfur battery. She shared this prize with Prof. Brent Sumerlin, who is in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Florida, USA.
IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) is nonprofit, non-governmental international organization founded in 1919. It is the biggest academic society in the world, including 50 member countries, 31 groups, and 58 companies. It applies activities in the field of chemistry such as establishing chemical nomenclature or atomic numbers of elements.

Selected among Korea’s 100 greatest researches
The teams of Professor Dong Sung Kim (ME), Prof. Jin Woo Lee (CE) and Dong Soo Hwang  (IBB) were selected among the 100 greatest researches of Government R&D Projects.
The Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning evaluated subjects of research ordered by government agencies and selected research teams that have the greatest achievements.
The team of Prof. Kim developed original technology to make nanofiber membranes that describe body organs. Prof. Lee’s team developed mesoporous material, which is greater than graphite electrode and kind of germanium electrode. Also, the team of Prof. Hwang developed environment-friendly biomaterial using mussel adhesive protein and a squid’s sucker.
The list of research is published as a catalogue and released to the public through NTIS (National Science & Technology Information Service).

삭제한 댓글은 다시 복구할 수 없습니다.
그래도 삭제하시겠습니까?
댓글 0
계정을 선택하시면 로그인·계정인증을 통해
댓글을 남기실 수 있습니다.